Spare time hobby???

 

Hey, shan!  You will never guess what I finally got done.  

And for those that don’t know me, I should explain.  I am sometimes the procrastinator, and this hasn’t gotten better since I retired.  I find that a good book in the morning can sometimes last several hours.  Now, just so you know, I am a morning person, and sometimes I can’t sleep at all, so getting out of bed before 5:00 a.m. is not out of the normal around here.  Like this morning, awake at 3:30 a.m., lying in bed, tossing and turning, getting up and head to the workshop.  My workshop:  such a wonderful place, tucked away in a corner of the lower level of our house with a great view of the side yard (which is the larger part of the yard). As it gets lighter, sometimes the wildlife “pets” show up, but not this morning.  So I got to concentrate on my latest projects.

I make jewelry.  Sometimes it is ornate,or simple with matching earrings, and sometimes just a focal on a chain.  I have my jewelry at a marvelous shop/cafe, The Tin Cup, in Nine Mile Falls, right across from the elementary school on Charles Road. And this coming weekend is “Dam Days” and Jamie and Brandi (the owners of The Tin Cup) have been after me to get more jewelry in for the weekend.  And so I did!  15 necklaces, the focal and chain type. I am so excited.  I hope that these go over well.

I have also made jewelry for some Gonzaga fans.  My friend and I have season tickets for the women’s basketball.  We decided that we should “bling up” in support of the women’s team and away I ran with the ball.  Again, my jewelry is simple and all mine, design, and style, not official Gonzaga wear.  Ladies that sat around us commented on our jewelry, and Char (ever the chatty one) started selling it right off our necks and ears.  Needless to say, we obviously make a good team, as I have sold lots of jewelry at the games and at the WCC tournament in Vegas, much of that thanks to Char. And a chat about Gonzaga and their fabulous educational classes and sports program will follow later.  I didn’t attend college at Gonzaga, but I have followed them for years in the sports program and have learned so much regarding their educational values.  So proud of that college and the standards that they set for their students.

I should make the case, that for me, most of my time is “spare time”.  That, of course, is not always true. Obligations abound, family, friends, house, commitments, etc. I have decided that my spare time is whatever I make it, and thanks, shan, for helping me branch out even further.  This blog is great fun, and I certainly enjoy following others. Hope you enjoy this one.

Judy

 

Hi! shan here. Way to go Judy! I knew she’d get it done. She talks a big game about procrastinating but believe me, she’s a busy gal. I just want to chime in and say, Judy’s jewelry is so fun. I have a few of her pieces and she does a great job. I’ve tried my hand at beaded jewelry and I did enjoy it, but it takes a steady hand and some concentration. Maybe if I had a great workroom like hers. Hmmm, maybe that’s the ticket. Nah, I’ll stick with painting nails and wearing Judy’s jewelry for now. I’ve got my eye on one of those pieces in the pics above! So cute.

 

Leave a Reply

