Outside the Box

I like to think that I have some skills, craft skills in particular.  I love making jewelry and feel that some of my pieces turned out okay.  I also like to get a little “artsy” when I take pictures.  And I love it when my kids say, “Wow, Mom, that is really good”.  Or Maybe they should say “terrific” or “spectacular”, you know, all the adjectives that really tell someone that what they accomplished was terrific or spectacular.  Now, I know that whatever they are saying is being said because they love me and don’t want to hurt my feelings.  Either way, I don’t care, sometimes you just need to feel good about yourself.

So, I decided to take on a new project.  Can I paint one of my photographs on canvas?  I don’t know if I can or not, but why not try.  You are never too old to step out of your box, that wonderful comfort zone that we all surround ourselves with.

As I leave the store with oils and new canvass, I think to myself, “Self, you are a bit nuts.  You should let the grandchildren have all this and let them go wild”.  But, as usual, I don’t listen to myself, of course.  I get home, put everything away, and there it stays for several months.  And I talk about it for several months.  And my husband listened for several months.  Then, when his patience ran out, he presented me with an easel he made in the shop.  No more excuses!

Out come the paints, the palette and canvass. A field of poppies come to mind and I actually sit down and paint.  When I am finished (so I think), I take a good long look at it, let it dry, and stick everything away back on the shelf………including my painting.  It’s awful!

After a couple of months go by, I decide to take the painting back down and see if I couldn’t fix it.  I fixed it alright.  Took one look at it and put 2 large orange globs in the middle of it and put it back on the shelf.

Another couple of months go by, I see the “thing” and think that I can’t possibly do any more harm to it, so I get out my air brush (which is another impulse buy) and decide to experiment with this horrendous painting and my air brush (first time using it). I spray, excuse me, air brush the entire canvass green—for grass—to enhance the background—and it does create a different look, acrylic over oils.  Not too bad, so I tell myself, and I leave it on the easel to dry.

A few days later, I come back to it and decide that orange poppies should not be in that field, and their color is changed to pink, with orange undertones.  And as I look at the finished product, I really don’t know if I could do this again.  This took a lot of time (didn’t have to) and I don’t think I have the patience for it.  But step out of your box, try something new.  And even for me, at 73 years old, it was fun.  And now on to the next adventure.

Judy

20170201_133909

2 thoughts on “Outside the Box”

  1. I think that it is really pretty. My mom oil painted…even though she couldn’t draw to save her life she was a terrific artist. Her 3 paintings that I have in my house are the most valuable things I own in my humble opinion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

