AFTERLIFE

Afterlife, After life. This was a crazy week. A lot of death and dying. I don’t take it lightly but I’m not a stressor over it. It happens to everyone sooner or later. The object is to make it as late as possible, at least for most of us.

I do believe in life after death, I do believe we have visits from beyond, and I do believe in ghosts. That isn’t what I’m talking about here. I’m literally talking about life after death. Those of us left behind. The life we need to rebuild after someone passes.

One of our neighbors was a hard working man. He was in the cement business in his younger days. He built their house and several others along the way. He was a Christian and he and his wife were very involved with their church. He even poured the concrete for the foundation of it and had a hand in the rest of the build. He had a stroke about 15 years ago. He had one side that was paralyzed. He couldn’t do the things he used to. His wife is a saint. She’s been caring for him all these years. The last year he’s been getting a little worse. Of course, I do have to say, they are 85 years old. Not spring chickens. He’s gotten argumentative and obstinate. No matter what she tried to do, he would argue or tell her it wasn’t right. I’m sure he was frustrated. I certainly would be if my body didn’t, do what I wanted it to do. As a matter of fact I am frustrated when my parts don’t do what they’re supposed to do. So I cannot imagine living that life daily.

Saturday, the fire trucks, paramedics and finally an ambulance came to the house. We weren’t surprised. With all the changes in him we kind of suspected something was coming. He passed on Sunday night. This stroke was massive and he was basically gone before they left the house. I believe he’s whole again. His body was broken but now he doesn’t need that. His wife, however is going to need time to get her life back. After caring for him for so long she won’t have all those chores and she’ll need to figure out what to do with herself. Everything before he passed, and now, life after

We had 5 deaths this week, and heard about a couple people who had debilitating accidents.  Each one creating a new path for those people or the ones left behind. Their new after life. Figuring out what to do with the emptiness, or the guilt or maybe even the relief of living life after

I went to visit the widow of our neighbor this morning. We had coffee and she told me of wonderful memories she has. She was thrilled about the stories people told about her husband at the memorial they held for him. These are what keep us going in our afterlife. 

This isn’t meant to be depressing or morose. As I said, it happens to all of us…none of us are getting outta here alive. It’s just some pondering that were rolling around in my brain. Pondering in the form of the letter “A”. As in after life. 

Leave a Reply

